Solent PR Student of the Month: Georgina Bush

Hello and welcome to the first Solent PR Student of the Month interview of the new term! After having just over a whole month since starting uni, I was very keen to chat with one of our first year PR Students. Read on to find out all about how Georgina is settling in to Southampton, the Solent PR course and uni life in general…

Georgina Bush, Solent PR First Year student

Georgina Bush, Solent PR First Year Student

What stood out most about the Solent PR course to you when applying for uni?

The main thing that stood out was the variety the course offered. We learn about so much using a wide selection of learning methods, for example the Mac suites and different softwares that I’d never used before coming here.

Has the course been what you expected so far? 

I wasn’t sure what to expect as I originally wanted to study the Social Media degree, but I spoke to a few third year students when I came for an open day and they said how much they loved the Public Relations degree and that social media comes into it in some units. It was also the top course for many things, including student satisfaction so I knew it would be a good course and it is, I’m really enjoying it! I came not knowing really what to expect so a lot is different to me; some of the units we are studying I definitely didn’t expect to study but I am really enjoying them so far.

After a month in, what is your favourite unit so far?

So far, I think my favourite unit is Interpersonal Communication. On the unit, we look at different ways to communicate in different situations, such as non-verbal communications like hand gestures and how they can mean different things in different countries. It’s really interesting and we all get to discuss our opinions and have a bit of a debate at the same time.

Do you have an idea of the type of PR you’d like to go into in the future?

I have no idea, I think I’m going to have do a lot more research until I can answer that question. I’m very indecisive at the moment, but I’m looking forward to finding out about the different sectors I could go into.

What are you most looking forward to over the next 3 years?

Getting involved in work experience and understanding which parts of PR I really enjoy and like. Also, getting all dressed up and wearing the hats and gowns at graduation, but that’s a long time away!

Thank you, Georgina! We’re looking forward to finding out how you get on over the next 2 and a bit years! 🙂

Solent PR Editor 

Leave a Reply

