Solent PR Graduate Interview: Ruby McElligott

With the Easter holidays and deadlines fast approaching, the Solent PR blog has a PR Graduate Interview with Ruby McElligott, who graduated last year, to motivate you all to work hard and get your dream jobs! 🙂

Solent PR Graduate, Ruby McElligott

Solent PR Graduate, Ruby McElligott

What have you been up to since leaving Solent?

Since leaving university I have undertaken three different work experiences, one agency and two in house. I’m currently doing another paid internship at an Events company called i2i Events Group in London.

What would you say was the most beneficial thing you’ve taken from the Solent PR course? 

I would definitely say work experience but also the crisis simulation that we had to do in our final year. For me both of these tasks really helped to boost my confidence and give me a taster of what it would be like to work as a PR professional. (Read about this year’s crisis simulation day, here!)

Where do you hope to be in 5 years?

I would love to be a senior PR and Marketing executive with the aim to be going into management. I really enjoy working for in house events so fingers crossed I’ll be working in that field!

What would you say to current and future students studying the Solent PR course?

Get involved with any networking events that are offered to you, you never know what connections you could make!

What was the highlight of your time at Solent?

The people I met, whether they were friends or lecturers! I learnt something different from each of them! And obviously the student loan was nice too haha!

Thank you Ruby!

Solent PR Editor 

Leave a Reply

