Solent PR Student of the Month; Lauren Whitty

The first Solent PR Student of the Month of 2015 is with 2nd year PR student, Lauren Whitty. Lauren transferred to Solent at the beginning of this academic year after not getting as much out of her degree, of Media and Publishing at her previous uni, as she would have liked. Read on to find out about Lauren’s transfer to Solent PR, past PR experience and what she would tell students wanting to study PR at Solent in the future.

2nd Year Student, Lauren Whitty

2nd Year Student, Lauren Whitty

 

You joined Solent in 2nd year, could you talk about what this has been like for you?

I was really nervous when starting Solent, transferring universities is not an easy task. It felt like I was a first year again. However everyone made me feel really welcome. It almost feels like I didn’t really miss a year as I feel engaged with all aspects of the course and I am really enjoying my time at Solent .

What has been your highlight of the course so far?

I have really enjoyed the Digital PR module with Mike Maynard. Working in groups for a live client pitch, we had to develop an online PR campaign for a well-known shopping centre in Basingstoke. I really loved working as a team and being really creative with the campaign. Pitching the campaign was really interesting too as it was to a live client and the first time I had ever really done any form of pitching, but we all worked together as a team and in the end won the award for the best overall pitch.

What sector of PR do you want to pursue after you graduate?

After doing work experience at a PR agency this summer I really enjoyed working with clients in the Music and Entertainment sector. I have grown up being around the Arts and I think this passion and interest has helped me to develop the want to work within this sector.

Can you talk about any PR experience you’ve had so far?

I worked at a local PR agency in Bournemouth last summer and loved every minute of it. I was doing lots of different things from writing articles for local press publications to updating the blog. I also got the chance to organize lots of events like the British Handball Championships. However after looking after the companies social networking sites for all the different clients for the whole summer, I got offered a job to do this part time whist I am at Uni, which is something I still love doing daily!

Why should students interested in PR study at Solent?

Public Relations at Solent is really like no other degree, all the content you learn on the course are transferrable skills that you can apply to the actual work place. I found, compared to my old university, Solent is a lot more focused on employability and that is a factor that really made me interested in the course.

If, after reading Lauren’s interview, you’d like to find out more about the Solent PR course, leave a comment below and we’ll get in contact!

Solent PR Editor 

Leave a Reply

