Solent PR Student of the Month: Friederike Rummenhohl

Welcome to October’s Solent PR Student of the Month after a long summer break!

This month, Masters student, Friederike, talks about her experience in PR so far and her hopes for the future!

MA PR Student, Friederike

MA PR Student, Friederike

How did you first find out what PR is?

“I had a vague idea of it when I started studying, as the hotel I did an apprenticeship in had a public relations manager. But I got to know it better at my first student employment working for Corporate Communications at Siemens.”

What were you doing before you came to Solent to do a Masters in PR?

“After my “Abitur” (similar to A-level) I had been working in a hotel for four years before starting my BA Communication Science (business administration and economics as minor subject) at the Ludwig-Maximilians-University in Munich, Germany.”

Besides studying, what are your interests and hobbies?

“I love travelling and photography. In fact, I just started a Photography Society at Solent to bring together people with the same interests. As an extrovert, I need people around me to be happy, so I love to spend time with my friends and loved ones.”

What sector of PR do you want to go in to?

“I have not decided about the industry, but I have a rough idea that, in the long term, I want to work in a company’s Corporate PR, though I don’t want to rule out anything at this point. As Douglas Adams put it: “I may not have gone where I intended to go, but I think I ended up where I needed to be.””

Where do you see yourself in 10 years time?

“Having a job and family I love and being able to reconcile both whilst probably living abroad. I’ve always dreamed about moving to Australia.”

Thank you, Friederike!

If you’re a PR student at Solent and interested in being November’s student of the month, leave a comment below!

Solent PR Editor 

Leave a Reply

