Interview: Giovanna Mae

With a Twitter following of 12.2k, 2nd year PR student Giovanna Mae has well and truly sussed how to make a strong presence on Twitter. I had a chat with her to see if she could share any of her Twitter wisdom…

IMG_1272

Hi Giovanna, can you tell me a bit about yourself? 

I’m currently in second year studying Public Relations & Communications. I knew what I wanted to do before I came to uni and I knew it would be music related so I started a blog last year which became part of the VICE bloggers network. If I only had to name a few of my hobbies (because I have so many) I would say listening to MUSIC, interviewing MUSICians, organising MUSIC events, blogging about MUSIC, modelling and shopping. Literally anything to do with music.
Wow, I can see you have a very big interest in music! What do you hope to do in the music PR sector in the future? 
Yes as you can probably tell I LOVE music, I can actually say music is my life; anything music related I’m bound to be involved somehow. In the future I see myself working in-house doing PR at a major record label, then branching out after making connections in that sector and starting my own PR company.
Why did you first decide to set up a twitter account?giovanna 2
My friend encouraged me to make Twitter in 2009. I didn’t really know how to use it, but people that I was really interested/influenced by during that time had Twitter accounts. I was one of those teenagers that was familiar with using other social media sites such as Facebook, Tumblr etc but Twitter seemed like the only way to get in touch with them. So you could say I made my account to communicate with my influencers at the time.
 
Can you pinpoint the time you realised you were becoming very popular on twitter?
I’d say around 2010 when people noticed that I regularly communicated with the “popular” crowd in the music industry on Twitter and started organising events/promoting them using Twitter.
 
Have you got any advice to PR students on how they can improve their twitter presence?
Just be yourself, follow people that have similar interests and don’t be afraid to communicate with your influencers, you never know you may end up building really good relationships (you could say i’m an example of that).
Thanks, Giovanna!
Giovanna With Tim Westwood!

Giovanna With Radio 1 Dj, Tim Westwood!

Solent PR Editor 

Leave a Reply

