Solent PR Student of the Month: Paige Hiley

This month, I spoke to 2nd year student, Paige Hiley, about her life as a PR student at Southampton Solent!

Paige Hiley, 2nd Year Solent PR Student

Paige Hiley, 2nd Year Solent PR Student

 

When did you first decide you wanted to study PR?

I discovered PR by mistake really, I’d never really thought about PR as a subject or course but whilst I was at Falmouth University open day for their Events Management course, I discovered PR and that it was a better subject for me as it meant I could drift off into different sectors after I graduate, whereas if I studied Events Management I’d be restricted to just this career. I  heard about Solent university through a friend and ended up applying to their PR degree course.

Why did the Solent PR course stand out to you?

Solent PR stood out more to me than Falmouth Uni’s PR course purely because I was sat there listening to the lectures talking to me about the course itself and at Solent I found it easier to listen and engage and actually learn things. This was a big yes for me as it meant I knew I’d be able to learn well through my time at university. The fact the course engages with local businesses as well for our assignments and focuses on placements during the summer was a big plus for me. As I knew I’d be able to develop my CV throughout my time for me to go straight into a job when I graduate.

What units are you currently studying?

Currently I’m finishing off our 2nd term, 2nd year units which are ‘Employability and Work placement skills’ ‘ Research and Evaluation’ ‘PR and Communication in a digital world’ and Solent creatives freelancing unit’ My favourite has to be the Solent creatives unit, I liked the fact we were able to work directly with a client and my team produced a pre-festival event for Ejector Seat Festival 2014 called ‘Road 2 Ejector Seat’. Having that experience to put on our CV is great and its even better that we get university credit for our work as well.

What has been the highlight of studying PR at Solent over the time you’ve been here?

My highlight so far would have to be our CooperVision pitch where my team won the title ‘Best CooperVision’ pitch. It was exciting to see the class pitch to a real client, nervous, but exciting. It was also the day I realised that I’m better at pitching than I thought I was. It gave me a big confidence boost and I now really enjoy it.

Thanks, Paige! If anything Paige has mentioned about our Solent PR course has interested you and you’d like to find out more, leave a comment and we’ll get in contact!

Solent PR Editor

2 responses to “Solent PR Student of the Month: Paige Hiley

  1. Pingback: Need a more creative CV? Why not turn it into a video cv! | Solent PR·

Leave a Reply

