The Parliamentary Launch of Top 100 Most Valuable Chinese Brands 2014

As a third year student studying Public Relations I’m eager to learn as much as I can about the world of business that I hope to one-day work in. So, when offered the chance to accompany my lecturer, Carolyn Cummings-Osmond, to the Parliamentary launch of WPP’s Top 100 Most Valuable Chinese Brands 2014, I jumped at the chance.

As well as getting to see Parliament for the first time, I got to hear views about the development of Chinese business from Sir Martin Sorrell, CEO of WPP, the world’s largest communications group; Lord Wei of Shorditch, Dr. Peter Nolan, Chong Hua Professor in Chinese Development at Cambridge University and  many more. Each of them provided thought-provoking perspectives about the economic development of China and predictions about what will be happening in business and industry in China over the next twenty years.  This experience made me realise how significant the information is to future developments in the PR and Communications industries.

Having attended the event I feel that the information that was given is something that many others in my position would benefit from having. With a number of books and brochures available to take home, the information inside each will not only help me with the last few months left of University, but also provide me with new insight that I need to succeed when venturing out into the business world. I’m very thankful to have been given the opportunity to listen and learn.

Here are some of the publications produced by WPP that were at the event.  My lecturer, Carolyn Cummings-Osmond was the copyeditor for all of the publications.  Digital copies can be accessed online:

The Power and Potential of the Chinese Dream. http://www.wpp.com/wpp/marketing/brandz/the-chinese-dream/

The Thoughts of Chairmen Now.   Wisdom from China’s business leaders and entrepreneurs.  http://thethoughtsofchairmennow.com/

BRANDZ Top 100 Most Valuable Chinese Brands in a year of China’s social and economic rebalancing. http://www.brandanalytics.com.br/brandz_top100_en.pdf

Leave a Reply

